Delayed contact

Today’s prompt is about “delayed contact“.

I would not get along with someone I don’t know.

Ahh…wait. It’s not that I would not get along with them. I would not “know how” to get along with them. They would be strangers, irregardless of the “ties that bind” be it genes or a 30 year friendship. Its weird though, I have met people who in a very very short period of time we have established a very tight bond on certain levels… a period of time significantly shorter than it has taken me to foster some of my 20+year friendships. It’s not that we’re all of a sudden “tight” with each other, it’s that we’ve “clicked”, and “I get you. I understand you in ways that our personalities make it easy to then “get to know each other”.

So if I think about the people I’ve known for a long time and whether or not meeting them for the first time now….would we get a long? I would say for most of them, a resounding yes! It’s because as an adult I know the type of people I want to surround myself with and even if I’m meeting them for the first time now-the people from my most recently established friendships… I would definitely get along with them.

So I’ve made a 180 degree shift in my idea from where I started when writing this post.

I would actually get a long with someone I don’t know. 🙂

One thought on “Delayed contact

  1. I lived in many countries as a kid, and I think there is something about it that makes us reflect on human connection. I like how you reflect on where you started the post and where you ended up! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

